September 23, 2010

  • Voninkazo

    Yesterday Josh called to ask us to drop by the hangar so we could bring in something that the Canadian Fliers had asked to have fixed (or something like that). We drove in, Judah and i, and toured the office saying manahoano! to everyone. On our way out Josh told me that he had brought something home for me from his  overnight trip to Mananjari – it was some coastal ferns and plants! I tell you, i know one of my top love languages is gifts, but i’ve sort of given up on it as a viable language in our home because i suppose i’m so picky particular that i make it exceedingly difficult for Josh to hit the mark, as it were. But this! This was both unexpected and right up my alley and i was delighted. So, thanks Josh. I love them! (and you!)

    Judah has been asking to take photos with my little red camera, so this is his attempt at a photo shoot.


    One of the ferns was this ‘bumpy’ one that the ladies, the gardener and i all thought to be delightful. It’s got no roots with it, so we’re trying to coax some out by sitting it in water for a while. Look at the detailing, isnt God creative? It kind of reminds me of the facial details on some of the races on Star Trek… perhaps they got the idea from these plants.

       
    Some other ‘good things’ recently have been my daily morning coffee that i top with a ‘decadent’ cap of frothed milk. That Ikea 2.50$ milk frother was a fantastic investment!! I took my morning coffee to class yesterday morning, since i slept poorly and then had to get up and at the day with more speed and vigor than usual because it was my turn to do the morning school run. I thus learned how to say, “Misotro kafe ve ianao?” (Drink coffee ‘question’ you?) and “Een, misotro kafe aho” (Yes, drink coffee i).


    Yesterday i also cut a whole hand-full of Rosemary from the neighbour’s front garden, since she doesnt live there anymore and i love the smell. They are currently rooting in water… and filling the kitchen with their fragrance. The snapdragons are from Rhonda’s garden, and every day when Judah sees them he chastises me, “Did you pick those flowers from someone else’s garden?!” Since i tell him never to do that himself! Ha. I’m a poor example. Rhonda’s garden is currently abandoned since the gardener no longer works there. We are currently in discussions with the proprietor’s right hand lady about whether MAF can keep the house and pay a lower rate while it’s under repair. We learned yesterday that the discussions went well AND that they plan to replace all our draughty windows with aluminum ones that SEAL! (can you even imagine the luxury!) I smile to myself over this news because it means about half of Josh’s to-do items are stroked off the list in one fell swoop since many of our windows are in desperate need of screen repair, etc. We’re debating, however, whether we should ask for them to leave the living room french doors, since sliding glass doors have significantly less character and openability than the leaky ones we’ve got currently. Hm, Charm or Warmth… which would you rather have?


    Rhonda’s old kitchen trolley, after a good sanding, is very at home in my kitchen these days. I love it. It’s just the right height for working on as opposed to the short tile counters i’ve got, and it’s on wheels which means it’ll also serve nicely as a drink/deck meal trolley and can be pushed out of the way when there’s too many cooks in the kitchen.

Comments (1)

  • sigh. this all makes me so homesick, but i love reading it so please keep blogging. i have this fear that mada and its details will soon be a distant memory and so blogs like this are something to savour. 

    p.s. i like your round vase… :)  

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *